top of page
  • Writer's pictureBenjamin Towell-Poddubiuk

Ada Lea - what makes me sad - Review

Beginning of 2019 I went to a Lala Lala show because one of my favorite artists; Sen Morimoto, was opening along with Ada Lea, an act I had previously never heard. But wow I was amazed and so I bought one of her CDs because she didn't have anything on streaming services yet and I loved that little EP (Check out "Crooked Picture"). But anyways, she signed to Saddle Creek, an eastern-americas indie rock/pop label and since has put out three singles, "the party", "mercury" and "what makes me sad" and the third one has definitely been the most entertaining and energetic (I like "the party" too, but "mercury" doesn't do much for me). The song sounds pretty old-timey I think that mostly comes from the guitar riff which seems to fold back into itself, an effect I've been hearing a lot of and thats really the best term I've been able to come with for it. The chord progression is quite Mac Demarco-esque sort of like "Chamber Of Reflection". Ada Lea's vocals sound very lively here compared to her usual shy voice, the hook is even booming which surprised me given her vocal performances on songs like "the party". The drum pattern is pretty basic but works fine and adds a little groove to the song. But the song is really made by the guitar riff and her vocals they play around each other beautifully, especially when her vocal inflections sound slightly off key or slightly off pitch, it adds a certain rawness to the song that I find is missing a little in indie music. Anyways, super hyped for her album and to see her live at little shows in Montreal. Solid 8.5/10.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page